International Advisory Board

In light of rapid economic changes brought about by globalization, IEA benefits from the experience and guidance of each of its advisory boards.

The International Advisory Board oversees all of IEA’s Alliances. Members of the International Advisory Board are also Alliance members based on their interests, industries, and areas of expertise.



Amb. Thomas Pickering, Co-Chairman

Vice Chairman Hills & Co. & Senior Advisor to Boeing

Former U.S. Ambassador to 7 countries & Under Secretary of State


Paul A. Volcker, Co-Chairman

Chairman, U.S. Economic Recovery Advisory Board;

Former Chairman, U.S. Federal Reserve Board



Sec. James Baker IIIIEA Honorary Co-Chairman Emeritus



Rawi Abdelal

Professor, Harvard Business School


Laura Alfaro

Professor, Harvard Business School


Craig Barrett

Former Chairman & CEO Intel Corporation


Barbara Barrett

(ret.) US Ambassador to Finland


Alexander Braverman

Former President of the Russian Marketing Association

Director of the Federal Fund for the Promotion of Housing Construction Development


Amb. James Collins

Director, Russia and Eurasia, Carnegie Endowment;

Former US Ambassador to Russia


Timothy Colton

Professor, Harvard’s Davis Center


Edward Glaeser

Professor, Harvard Kennedy School


Bill Graebel

CEO, Graebel Companies Inc.


Maurice Greenberg, Co-Chairman

Chairman & CEO CV Starr & Co.


Andrei Illarionov

Former Economic Policy Advisor to the President of Russia; 

Center for Global Liberty and Prosperity, Senior Fellow, Cato Institute


Donald Kendall

Co-founder of PepsiCo


Sergei Konoplyov

Director of the Black Sea Security Program & the Ukraine Program

At Harvard University


Robert Lawrence

Professor, Harvard Kennedy School


Jean Lemierre

Chairman of BNP Paribas;

Former President of EBRD


Van McCormick

Director of IEA


John Quelch

Dean of University of Miami School of Business;

former Senior Dean and Professor, Harvard Business School


Malcom Salter

Professor, Harvard Business School


Joseph Stanislaw

Independent Senior Advisor for Energy, Deloitte LLC;

Co-founder of CERA


Richard H.K. Vietor

Professor, Harvard Business School


Floyd Wilson

CEO of Halcon Resources


We would like to thank the members of the IEA Board Emeritus for their help in founding IEA, with special recognition for the vision of our Founding Chairman, the late Secretary Robert Mosbacher (fmr US Secretary of Commerce). 

We also owe great thanks to two founding advisory board members, the late Robert Wussler (co-founder of CNN) and the late Secretary Jack Kemp (fmr US VP candidate and US Secretary of HUD) who was also co-founder of the Global Investment Symposium.


In Memoriam

Sec. Jack Kemp, GIS Co-Founder, Former U.S. Vice Presidential Candidate with Senator Robert Dole

Eddie LeBaronBoard Member and Chairman, LeBaron Companies; Former Quarterback Dallas Cowboys

Sec. Robert Mosbacher Sr., Founding Chairman of IEA

Peter G. PetersonCo-Founder of Blackstone and former U.S. Secretary of Commerce;

Chairman, Peter G. Peterson Foundation

Robert Wussler, IEA Advisory Board Member; Co-Founder of CNN